• The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts.
  • Gary Chapman.
  • paperback.
  • Imported from USA.

Unhappiness in marriage often has a simple root cause: we speak
different love languages, believes Dr. Gary Chapman. While
working as a marriage counselor for more than 30 years, he
identified five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality
Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. In a
friendly, often humorous style, he unpacks each one. Some
husbands or wives may crave focused attention; another needs
regular praise. Gifts are highly important to one spouse, while
another sees fixing a leaky faucet, ironing a shirt, or cooking a
meal as filling their "love tank." Some partners might find
physical touch makes them feel valued: holding hands, giving back
rubs, and sexual contact. Chapman illustrates each love language
with real-life examples from his counseling practice.

How do you discover your spouse’s – and your own – love
language? Chapman’s short questionnaires are one of several ways
to find out. Throughout the book, he also includes application
questions that can be answered more extensively in the
beautifully detailed companion leather journal (an exclusive set). Each section of the journal corresponds with a
chapter from the book, offering opportunities for deeper
reflection on your marriage.

Although some readers may find choosing to love a spouse that
they no longer even like –hoping the feelings of affection will
follow later– a difficult concept to swallow, Chapman promises
that the results will be worth the effort. "Love is a choice,"
says Chapman. "And either partner can start the process today."
--Cindy Crosby. This text refers to the Exclusive
Journal & Paperback Book Set.