Desertcart
Explore

Description

    • Imported from USA.

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the
    1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast.
    Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish
    the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently
    altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

    Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's
    leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on
    the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine
    Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original
    source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

    Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship
    in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the
    West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad.
    Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the
    colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders
    helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

    Reviews