Product: 316010
Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great
Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great
Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great
Save

Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great

This product is currently out of stock.

Product Description

Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s
engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the
throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman
of her time.

A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly
reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva
Stachniak’s enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne,
her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine
recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia’s Grand Duchess, the
usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her
struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.

“We quarrel about power, not about love,” Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but
her days were balanced on the razor’s edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve,
strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile
country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming
court in order to become one of history’s greatest rulers.

Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman
in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.

Praise for Empress of the Night

“[Eva] Stachniak’s absorbing novel opens readers’ hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . .
Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak’s story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for
fans.”—RT Book Reviews

“Stachniak’s insight into the opulent lives of Russia’s rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . .
Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler.”—Library
Journal

“The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically
intense . . . vivid descriptions.”—Quill & Quire

“Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time.”—DuJour

“Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine’s life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers,
intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page.”—Virtuoso Life

Reviews