Looking for a gift?
 Browse Holiday Gift Guides »

The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana


Order now to get it by: Thursday December 15 - Saturday December 17

Condition: New

Product ID: 423909

Delivery Information |Returns & Exchanges |Payment Methods

Description

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often
hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and
exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces.

As he relates his father’s rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the
larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb
reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the
perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Back then, everyone knew a drug
dealer. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense, to
us all.
The Last Pirate is a cultural portrait of marijuana’s endless allure set against the Technicolor backdrop of South
Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It’s a public saga complete with a real pirate’s booty: more than a million dollars
lost, buried, or stolen—but it’s also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son’s determination to replant the
family tree in richer soil.

more...