Free Delivery Over AED 250
14-day Free Returns
Secure Shopping
Free Delivery
Live Support

Invasion Rabaul: The Epic Story of Lark Force, the Forgotten Garrison, January - July 1942 (Rabaul Trilogy)

Product Description

Imported from USA

The riveting first book in Bruce Gamble's critically acclaimed Rabaul trilogy, originally published in hardcover
entitled Darkest Hour, which chronicles the longest battle of World War II. January 23, 1942, New Britain. It was 2:30
a.m., the darkest hour of the day and, for the tiny Australian garrison sent to defend this Southwest Pacific island,
soon to be the darkest hour of the war. Lark Force, comprising of 1,500 soldiers and six nurses, faced a vastly superior
Japanese amphibious unit poised to overrun Rabaul, capital of Australia's mandated territories. Invasion Rabaul, the
first book in military historian Bruce Gamble's critically acclaimed Rabaul trilogy, is a gut-wrenching account of
courage and sacrifice, folly and disaster, as seen through the eyes of the defenders who survived the Japanese assault.
Gamble's gripping narrative follows key individuals -- soldiers and junior officers, an American citizen and an Army
nurse among them -- who were driven into the jungle, prey to the unforgiving environment and a cruel enemy that
massacred its prisoners. The dramatic stories of the Lark Force survivors, told here in full for the first time, are
among the most inspiring of the Pacific War -- and they lay a triumphant foundation for one of today's most highly
praised military nonfiction trilogies.